Research for your best night’s sleep

Good Night’s SleepLab

bico-magazin-beitrag-good-night-2 Walze
Bico Magazinbild April 2019 GNI quer

Sleep: as children, we don’t want to, and as adults, we wish we could spend more time doing it. Although we spend more time in bed than previous generations, it does not mean that we are getting more or better-quality sleep. On the contrary, it has long been the case that sleeping is not the only thing we do in our beds. Some of us press snooze and roll over before getting up, some of us read or watch television, or share the bed with a child or a pet, while others even work and eat in bed. Our stressful everyday lives also demand a great deal from us. Many people still have an illuminated screen in front of them shortly before going to sleep, and it has been proven that the duration and quality of sleep has declined over the last few years.

A good night’s sleep on BICO mattresses

When faced with these challenges, how can the composition and functionality of a bed improve our well-being, our health, and ultimately our overall quality of life? What parameters affect comfort, sleep quality and the durability of a bed? BICO concerns itself with these questions every day. With over 150 yearsof tradition, this Swiss company provides highly developed and individually tailored solutions for deep, healthy sleep.

Innovative research laboratory for restful sleep

In 2014, BICO took the next step forward with the opening of its Good Night’s SleepLab. This unique, cross-sector institute for research and development, as well as product and materials testing, is regarded as a milestone of innovation research in Europe. Independently run, it works in collaboration with the Swiss AEH institute for occupational medicine, ergonomics and hygiene, and is therefore authorised to test quality to the highest standards and to certify products.

High-tech mattress testing procedure

By adhering to the following four criteria, we arrive at the optimum pre-conditions for our best night’s sleep:

Ergonomics

To allow the back to relax, the mattress must adapt perfectly to the contour of the body. To determine optimum comfort and greatest possible relaxation, firmness, body support and regeneration are tested.

Bed climate

The ideal temperature and a dry climate are determining factors for restful sleep. This is why BICO mattresses are tested for breathability, fluid transport, and temperature regulation.

Hygiene

Optimum bed hygiene is an important factor for good health, particularly for allergy sufferers. To ensure the best hygiene, we are continuing to develop the use of antibacterial agents to combat bacteria, moulds, mites, and odours.

Durability

As BICO subjects all its mattresses to high pressure, humidity and temperature fluctuations, our beds score highly in terms of durability, reliability, and high levels of safety.

The expertise centre for sleep quality understands the nature of a good night’s sleep, and therefore works to maximise our quality of sleep according to a holistic approach.

BICO has no influence over how early or late we ultimately go to bed, but we are easily able to find the ideal bed for you. Tailored to our requirements and using state-of-the-art innovations, our beds are hand-made in Switzerland by BICO, and tested and certified to the most stringent criteria – für ä tüüfä gsundä Schlaaf® (for a deep and healthy sleep).

Recherche  au service du meilleur sommeil

Good Night’s SleepLab

bico-magazin-beitrag-good-night-2 Walze
Bico Magazinbild April 2019 GNI quer

Enfants, nous ne voulons pas aller au lit; une fois adultes, nous rêvons de dormir plus. Certes, nous passons plus de temps sous la couette que les générations précédentes, mais nous ne dormons pas plus ni mieux qu’autrefois – au contraire, il y a bien longtemps que le lit n’est plus exclusivement réservé au sommeil. Certains d’entre nous somnolent encore un peu avant de se lever, lisent ou regardent la télé, partagent le lit avec leur bout de chou et leur animal de compagnie, y travaillent, voire y mangent. Sans compter que notre quotidien stressant nous met à rude épreuve. Beaucoup de gens passent du temps sur écran presque jusqu’au moment de s’endormir et il est prouvé que la qualité et la durée du sommeil sont en baisse ces dernières années.

Bien dormir sur les matelas BICO

Comment, dans ce contexte exigeant, les caractéristiques et fonctionnalités d’un lit peuvent-elles influencer positivement notre bien-être, notre santé et partant toute notre qualité de vie? De quels paramètres dépendent le confort, la qualité de sommeil et la longévité d’un lit? BICO se pose ces questions jour après jour. Depuis plus de 150 ans, l’entreprise suisse traditionnelle propose des solutions sophistiquées et personnalisées pour un sommeil sain et profond.

Laboratoire de recherche innovant pour un sommeil réparateur

En 2014, BICO va plus loin en inaugurant le Good Night’s SleepLab. Ce centre dédié à la recherche et au développement ainsi qu’aux tests des produits et matériaux est unique, tous secteurs confondus, et considéré en Europe comme une référence majeure dans la recherche sur l’innovation. Indépendant, il coopère avec le centre AEH pour la médecine du travail, l’ergonomie et l’hygiène, ce qui l’autorise à tester la qualité selon les normes les plus strictes et à certifier les produits.

Processus high-tech de test des matelas

Le respect des quatre critères suivants crée des conditions cadre optimales pour le meilleur sommeil:

Ergonomie

Pour que notre dos puisse se détendre, le matelas doit s’adapter idéalement à la silhouette. Pour un confort optimal et la meilleure détente possible, les propriétés de couchage, le soutien du corps et la régénération sont testés.

Climat de lit

Une température idéale et un climat de lit sec sont décisifs pour un sommeil réparateur. Le caractère respirant, l’évacuation de l’humidité et la régulation de la température des matelas BICO sont par conséquent contrôlés.

Hygiène

Une hygiène de lit optimale est un facteur de santé important – notamment chez les personnes allergiques. Afin d’assurer la meilleure hygiène, l’utilisation de principes actifs pour lutter contre les bactéries, les champignons, les acariens et les odeurs est perfectionnée en continu.

Durabilité

BICO garantit d’excellents résultats en termes de longévité et de fiabilité, ainsi qu’une sécurité élevée en exposant tous ses matelas à des pressions, des niveaux d’humidité et des variations de température importants.

Le centre de compétence pour la qualité du sommeil comprend donc parfaitement les enjeux de cette dernière et l’améliore selon une approche globale.

BICO n’a pas d’influence sur l’heure à laquelle nous allons nous coucher. Mais se procurer le meilleur lit possible est un jeu d’enfant. Parfaitement adapté à nos besoins, intégrant les innovations les plus récentes, il est fait main en Suisse par BICO, testé et certifié selon les exigences les plus strictes – pour un sommeil sain et profond®.