Research for your best night’s sleep

Good Night’s SleepLab

bico-magazin-beitrag-good-night-2 Walze
Bico Magazinbild April 2019 GNI quer

Sleep: as children, we don’t want to, and as adults, we wish we could spend more time doing it. Although we spend more time in bed than previous generations, it does not mean that we are getting more or better-quality sleep. On the contrary, it has long been the case that sleeping is not the only thing we do in our beds. Some of us press snooze and roll over before getting up, some of us read or watch television, or share the bed with a child or a pet, while others even work and eat in bed. Our stressful everyday lives also demand a great deal from us. Many people still have an illuminated screen in front of them shortly before going to sleep, and it has been proven that the duration and quality of sleep has declined over the last few years.

A good night’s sleep on BICO mattresses

When faced with these challenges, how can the composition and functionality of a bed improve our well-being, our health, and ultimately our overall quality of life? What parameters affect comfort, sleep quality and the durability of a bed? BICO concerns itself with these questions every day. With over 150 yearsof tradition, this Swiss company provides highly developed and individually tailored solutions for deep, healthy sleep.

Innovative research laboratory for restful sleep

In 2014, BICO took the next step forward with the opening of its Good Night’s SleepLab. This unique, cross-sector institute for research and development, as well as product and materials testing, is regarded as a milestone of innovation research in Europe. Independently run, it works in collaboration with the Swiss AEH institute for occupational medicine, ergonomics and hygiene, and is therefore authorised to test quality to the highest standards and to certify products.

High-tech mattress testing procedure

By adhering to the following four criteria, we arrive at the optimum pre-conditions for our best night’s sleep:

Ergonomics

To allow the back to relax, the mattress must adapt perfectly to the contour of the body. To determine optimum comfort and greatest possible relaxation, firmness, body support and regeneration are tested.

Bed climate

The ideal temperature and a dry climate are determining factors for restful sleep. This is why BICO mattresses are tested for breathability, fluid transport, and temperature regulation.

Hygiene

Optimum bed hygiene is an important factor for good health, particularly for allergy sufferers. To ensure the best hygiene, we are continuing to develop the use of antibacterial agents to combat bacteria, moulds, mites, and odours.

Durability

As BICO subjects all its mattresses to high pressure, humidity and temperature fluctuations, our beds score highly in terms of durability, reliability, and high levels of safety.

The expertise centre for sleep quality understands the nature of a good night’s sleep, and therefore works to maximise our quality of sleep according to a holistic approach.

BICO has no influence over how early or late we ultimately go to bed, but we are easily able to find the ideal bed for you. Tailored to our requirements and using state-of-the-art innovations, our beds are hand-made in Switzerland by BICO, and tested and certified to the most stringent criteria – für ä tüüfä gsundä Schlaaf® (for a deep and healthy sleep).

Forschung für Ihren besten Schlaf

Good Night’s SleepLab

Als Kind wollen wir nicht, als Erwachsene wünschen wir, wir könnten noch viel mehr: schlafen. Zwar verbringen wir mehr Zeit im Bett als frühere Generationen, was aber nicht heisst, dass wir auch mehr oder besser schlafen, im Gegenteil – im Bett schlafen wir längst nicht mehr nur. Manche von uns dösen noch eine Weile, bevor sie aufstehen, lesen oder sehen fern, teilen das Bett mit Kind und Haustier und arbeiten und essen hier sogar. Zudem verlangt uns unser stressiger Alltag viel ab. Viele sind bis kurz vor dem Einschlafen mit Bildschirmlicht konfrontiert und es ist erweisen, dass Schlafdauer und -qualität in den letzten Jahren abgenommen haben.

Gut schlafen auf BICO-Matratzen

Wie können bei diesen Herausforderungen die Beschaffenheit und Funktionalität eines Betts unser Wohlbefinden, unsere Gesundheit und schliesslich unsere ganze Lebensqualität positiv beeinflussen? Welche Parameter bewirken Komfort, Schlafqualität und Langlebigkeit einer Schlafstätte? Diese Fragen stellt sich BICO täglich. Seit mehr als 150 Jahren bietet das Schweizer Traditionsunternehmen hochentwickelte und individualisierte Lösungen für einen tiefen und gesunden Schlaf.

Innovatives Forschungslabor für erholsamen Schlaf

2014 geht BICO mit der Eröffnung des Good Night’s SleepLab noch einen Schritt weiter. Die branchenübergreifend einzigartige Institution für Forschung und Entwicklung sowie Produkt- und Materialprüfung gilt in Europa als Meilenstein der Innovationsforschung. Unabhängig geführt, kooperiert es mit dem Schweizer AEH Institut für Arbeitsmedizin, Ergonomie und Hygiene und ist somit berechtigt, Qualität nach höchsten Standards zu testen und Produkte zu zertifizieren.

Hochtechnologisches Matratzen-Testverfahren

Durch die Einhaltung folgender vier Kriterien entstehen optimale Rahmenbedingungen für unseren besten Schlaf:

Ergonomie

Damit sich unser Rücken entspannen kann, muss sich die Matratze der Körperkontur ideal anpassen. Für den optimalen Komfort und die bestmögliche Entspannung werden Liegeeigenschaft, Körperunterstützung und Regeneration geprüft.

Bettklima

Die ideale Temperatur und ein trockenes Klima sind entscheidend für einen erholsamen Schlaf. Deshalb werden die BICO-Matratzen hinsichtlich Atmungsaktivität, Flüssigkeitstransport und Temperaturregulierung getestet.

Hygiene

Eine optimale Betthygiene ist ein wichtiger Faktor für eine gute Gesundheit – insbesondere für Allergiker. Um die beste Hygiene sicherzustellen, wird der Einsatz antibakterieller Wirkstoffe zur Bekämpfung von Bakterien, Pilzen, Milben und Gerüchen weiterentwickelt.

Haltbarkeit

Indem BICO alle Matratzen hohem Druck, Feuchtigkeit und Temperaturschwankungen aussetzt, werden Top-Resultate bezüglich Langlebigkeit, Zuverlässigkeit sowie hoher Sicherheit gewährleistet.

Das Kompetenzzentrum für Schlafqualität versteht und optimiert somit unsere Schlafqualität nach einem ganzheitlichen Ansatz.